A hands-on
to relevance

MFA in Advanced Product Design

Masters programme, 120 ECTS-credits

As innovation and new technologies become more significant in the design process, the industrial designer's role as coordinator of the problem solving process is becoming more important. The increasing complexities and demands for multi-disciplinary teamwork in the product development process demand a more holistic approach, which is one of the modern industrial designers' greatest attributes, and the basis for the Advanced Product Design Programme.

The Advanced Product Design Programme

The Advanced Product Design Programme is a solution-driven education that focuses on the advanced treatment of design - using user studies, problem identification and analysis, new technologies and materials, and above all an emphasis on innovative and new thinking - to find the best possible solution for a given problem or identified design opportunity.

The philosophy of the program is to combine the knowledge and insights of today's hard-core product design with the possibilities that arise when applying both the physical and digital technology of tomorrow, induced with an universal approach and respect for human and nature that characterize the Scandinavian design tradition. With this as a starting point, the next generation of industrial designers have all the possibilities at hand to build new knowledge and to broaden the scope of product related functionality and experiences.

Please have a look at our facebook page


Thomas Degn BW

Thomas Degn
Programme Director
Senior Lecturer in Industrial Design


Why study Advanced Product Design at Umeå?

By Pete Avondoglio, Professor Emeritus






  • Send us your questions

    Didn't find the information you looked for?

    E-mail us at enquiries@dh.umu.se 

    We are always happy to help!

  • Recent Acknowledgements

    2018 Braunprize Small Pic Winners
    2018 BraunPrize:
     Peter Alwin (Gold - Young Talents). Jenny Holmsten & Thomas Helmer (Gold - Students). Birnur Sahin, Gabriel Guggla & Slevi Olgac (Silver - Students).
    2018 Red Dot: James Skeggs & Franziska Heuck
    (Best of the Best). Rebecca Daum.  Alejandro Mandrion. Alexander Abele. Ruben Eriksson.
    2018 IDEA:  Jenny Holmsten & Thomas Helmer (Gold + Best in Show). Ahsen Gülsen, Jon Sommarström & Jakob Dawod (Silver).
    2018 Best Awards:  James Skeggs James Skeggs & Franziska Heuck.
    2018 James Dyson Award - Swedish edition Pontus Edman. Patrick Krassnitzer, Ferdinand Aichriedler & Manuel Hess.
    2018 Core77: Strategy & Research Award:  Rebecca Daum (Winner)  Commercial Equipment Award: Elias Thaddäus Pfuner (Winner). Lu Zheng & Pontus Edman (Runner Up). Simon Linge (Notable). Alejandro Mandrion (N). Franziska Heuck & James Skeggs (N). Alexander Abele (N). Aileen Kassing & Rik Oudenhoven (N). Ahsen Gülsen (N). Pontus Edman (N). Consumer Product Award: Alejandro Mandrion (R). Ricardo Verheul (R - with IxDs Geert Roumen, Iris Ritsma, Ivan Kunjasic). Jenny Holmsten & Thomas Helmer (N). Patrick Krassnitzer, Ferdinand Aichriedler & Manuel Hess (N). Interaction Award: Sebastian Gier (R). Jenny Holmsten & Thomas Helmer (N). Service Design Award: Sebastian Gier (R). Rebecca Daum (N). Transportation Award: Elias Thaddäus Pfuner (R).
    2018 iF-1: Anders Sandström & Engin Guzel

    2017 Red Dot Concept: Rik Oudenhoven. Marc Saboya Feliu. Rebecca Daum. Peter Alwin. Jens Rehammar & Joe Richardson. Jakob Dawod. 
    2017 Best Design Awards
    : James Skeggs.
    2017 iF: Ahsen Gülsen. Rik Oudenhoven. Kristjan Juks. Lina Trulsson. Ilteris Ilbasan. Peter Alwin.
    2017 Innovation by Design: Melissa Mahmutovic & Lu Zheng (with IxDs Justyna Fryczak, Mehek Sharma, Zhi Wang).
    2017 IDEA: Peter Alwin. Susanne Duswald & Janis Beinerts. Jens Rehammar & Joe Richardson. 
    2017 Core77: Lina Trulsson. Ilteris Ilbasan. Jens Rehammar & Joe Richardson. Susanne Duswald & Janis Beinerts. Sebastian Miura. Melissa Mahmutovic & Lu Zheng.

    2016 iF: Rebecca Daum. Jens Rehammar. Sebastian Aumer. Jost Siebert & Darja Wendel. Cindy Sjöblom. Aaron Wansch. Jacob Dawod. Rik Oudenhoven.
    2016 Red Dot: Jens Rehammar. Alexander Turesson. Cindy Sjöblom. Rebecca Daum.
    2016 Core77: Thibault Moussanet. James Skeggs. Jon Sommarström. Jenny Holmsten. Anna-Maria Schneider. Darja Wendel & Jost Siebert. Zihao Wang. William van Beek. Alexander Turesson. Marc Saboya Feliu. Rik Oudenhoven & Daan Hekking. Anders Sandström. Franziska Heuck & Alieen Kassing. Jakob Dawod.
    2016 Spark: Marc Saboya.
    2016 Innovation By Design: Carlos Arturo Torres.
    2016 Interaction Design Awards: Janis Beinerts & Sebastian Aumer (with IxDs Trieuvy Luu and Lars Sundelin).
    2016 Netexplo: Carlos Arturo Torres.

  • Facts & Figures

    10 nationalities. The programme currently has students from Austria, Brazil, China, Denmark, Germany, Poland, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands and Turkey.

  • Recent internships

    Above, Sweden. Adidas, Germany. Atlas Copco, Sweden. Cogiance, Germany. Designit, Denmark & Germany. Designworks, Germany. Frog, Italy. HUGE, USA, IDEO, USA, Kilo, Denmark. KISKA, Austria. NOKIA, Finland. STARCK, France. Swift Creatives, Denmark. Veryday, Sweden, Whipsaw, USA. 

  • Online application

    October 16 - January 15
    Application period for 
    MFA programmes and one-year course Industrial Design Intensive